Twitter announced that it would delete users who have not logged in to the account for more than 6 months. The user names of the deleted accounts of the platform can be received by others.
The company warned people who had not used their Twitter account for more than 6 months and had told them that the account would be permanently deleted from the platform if they had not logged in before December 11th. It was pointed out that the user name of the deleted account can be retrieved by other users to be re-used.
A Twitter manager said the following:
As part of our commitment to public speaking, we strive to clean inactive accounts to provide more accurate and reliable information that people can trust on Twitter. Part of this effort is to encourage users to actively connect and use Twitter when they open our policy of inactive accounts.
We have begun to proactively access many accounts that have not logged into Twitter for more than six months to report that their accounts may be permanently deleted because they have not been processed for a long time.
Twitter has not yet specified a specific date for the disclosure of user names for deleted accounts. Expressing that the process of deleting inactive accounts will take months, the company said it was not possible to announce the usernames of accounts deleted on December 11th.